The Star Brows Blog  Has Moved Please Visit this Link for the Post on the New Site. 

“Courage! What makes a king out of a slave? Courage! What makes the flag on the mast to wave? Courage! What makes the elephant charge his tusk in the misty mist, or the dusky dusk? What makes the muskrat guard his musk? Courage! What makes the sphinx the seventh wonder? Courage! What makes the dawn come up like thunder? Courage! What makes the Hottentot so hot? What puts the “ape” in apricot? What have they got that I ain’t got?” The Cowardly Lion from The Wizard of Oz

It takes courage to make changes, and I’m making plenty lately! The biggest of them is moving my business to 1065 West Grand in Grover Beach. For locals, that’s right across from Miners. The move-in date is April 15. Everything you know and love about Star Brows will remain the same, including the phone number. 🙂

So, instead of looking to the Cowardly Lion in the light of these changes and fearfully affirming that “I do believe in spooks, I do, I do,” I’m repeating what some of the “greats” had to say on the subject:

“A mind troubled by doubt cannot focus on the course to victory.” Arthur Golden

Concentration of effort and the habit of working with a definite chief aim are two of the essential factors in success which are always found together. One leads to the other.” Napoleon Hill

“Don’t limit yourself. Many people limit themselves to what they think they can do. You can go as far as your mind lets you. What you believe, you can achieve.” Mary Kay Ash

“I can not do everything, but I can do something. I must not fail to do the something that I can do.” Helen Keller

I am so thankful to Dr. Cory Moore for providing me with a nice treatment room (and more!) for the last 3 years, to re-start my practice here in California. As many of you know, I wanted to “keep it simple” and small…yeah, well I guess you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, change the spots on a leopard, or suppress a dreamer. In the end, to thine own self be true, or from my favorite quote ever by Dag Hammarskjold, Nobel Peace Prize recipient: “Never for the sake of peace and quiet deny your own experience or convictions.”

I’ve got to remember to be Linda. I’m a mover-and-a-shaker and am so excited to open the new Star Brows! I know it will be wonderful, once I’m done dealing with electricians (lions) and plumbers (tigers) and contractors (bears) – Oh My! In all fairness, I didn’t go looking to get bigger, just more comfortable! Now I’ll have better parking and more privacy. One of the most important things for me to provide is an environment that relaxes, calms, and soothes you – a space shared with other businesses makes creating that environment difficult.

In retrospect I see that unconsciously I’ve been purging and making changes in my life to prepare for this for a while now. I’ve been making room for new things – it’s a God thing.

Be of good cheer, friends. There will be good days and bad, but never stop dreaming. Never stop taking chances, or risks. In the end, nothing ventured – nothing gained.

See you at the New Spa!

