The Star Brows Blog  Has Moved Please Visit this Link for the Post on the New Site.

I like to think of myself as altruistic and have often felt disdain for narcissistic behaviors in others. Finding a sensible personal as well as professional balance is an ongoing process.

But before I waste too much of your time on my introspective ramblings, let me get my story out.

The other day I had a call (which was weird from the start) from a woman staying at a local hotel on Grand Ave. just blocks from me. I’ve seen the hotel – it looks sleazy, but what do I know?

Anyway, “Hotel Girl,” we’ll call her, shows up and is in the lobby looking a little “tweaked-out” frantically trying to activate a credit card. Rather an unusual scenario, as she was also already 15 minutes late for her appointment with me.

Earlier I had decided to stay late to see her because I was feeling guilty about taking most of Friday and all of Saturday off to go on a women’s retreat.

She talked me into seeing her, even though payment looked questionable. I had a sense of “knowing” in my gut that this was a shady deal. But feeling like I needed to gear up spiritually for the retreat, I decided to trust her, give her the benefit of the doubt, and not judge.

So the service, a facial, commenced. She continued crossing boundaries by pleading for a lip and chin wax despite the fact that I told her the facial wouldn’t be as effective if we waxed. I ended up doing the waxing she requested.

When the service was over, she came half naked into the lobby and proceeded to finish dressing at the desk…geez!

After another 10-15 minutes struggling with paperwork, cards, and the phone, she emerged payment-less. No surprise.

She then offered me an ID as collateral until she could get back with payment, that was five days ago.

I wish Hotel Girl well, wherever she is. And, as for myself, I need to remember that I am neither altruistic nor narcissistic, as these tend to be extremes on a continuum.  Next time I want to serve the indigent, I will purpose to do so, in the meantime a boundary-refresher course is in order.

Addendum: The service was done Thursday night, Monday I decided to call the GB Police department and gave them her contact info and her ID card. Tuesday her “assistant” called me and gave me a credit card over the phone. This time it went through.

See you at the new spa!

Image courtesy: Jordan Matter Photography “Dancers Among Us” project

